Creamy Reese’s Peanut Butter Dip

Book club time again, this month’s selection was A Visit for the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan. I liked some of the book, but there were too many characters and writing styles for me to keep up with.  When I got to the power point presentation, I wanted to just skip it, I was reading, why was there what  looks like math in front of me. I was however excited for the chance to pull out my Doc Martens and old 80′s new wave/punk jewelry.  Have I mentioned I am in the best book club in the world, we go all out, costumes, food, etc…

 

This month’s food was a challenge though, 80′s punk rock food….hmmm. Luckily one of the characters, Lou, eats a lot of apples in the book, that was my inspiration. I have made a cream cheese and Heath bar dip for apples in the past but I wanted to put a little spin on it. I decided to switch up the candy and use Reese Peanut Butter cups instead, I liked this dip way more than the book.

2 8oz bricks of cream cheese, softened

1 8oz carton of cool whip

1/4 c brown sugar

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

5 full sized Reese’s Peanut Butter Candy Bars ( a total of 10 cups, 2 in each package)

Add Cream Cheese, Sugar, Vanilla and 3 candy bars (6 cups) to a food processor, pulse until candy is chopped up and ingredients are combined.

Add mixture to a large bowl and fold in cool whip until combined.

Spread mixture into a large glass pie pan or other shallow dish. Chop remaining peanut butter cups and sprinkle on top. Serve with sliced apples, pretzel chips and graham crackers.

10 responses

  1. Pingback: Graduation Party Revisited | Hollie's Hobbies

  2. Pingback: I Made it to 50,000! | Hollie's Hobbies

  3. Pingback: 15 Sweet Dips for Amazing Desserts

Leave a Reply

