Zucchini and Orange Salad

Sometimes you just have to pretend you are on the Food Network Show, Chopped. I end up with a little bit of this and a little bit of that left in the fridge and I need a side dish. Well zucchini and oranges were on sale this week and I guess I over bought and the Italian parsley was overtaking my whole garden. I guess that is what was in my “basket”. I have eaten stranger combinations in my life and I was going to have to throw it out any way, and if it works I look like a culinary genius. Game on.

So I got out my vegetable peeler and sliced my 2 zucchini into ribbons, Peeled and sectioned 1 orange and chopped my parsley, about 2T. Threw that into the bowl, added 1T red wine vinegar and about a Tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil, some salt and pepper.

.

So the moment of truth, Will Ted be calling my name to be Chopped? I liked it, really light and fresh, the citrus woke up the zucchini, which can be a dull and flavorless vegetable, especially when raw. Cue my husband entering for dinner, he sees I have a weird look and questions me and what I will be serving. I say with confidence, “Zucchini and Orange Salad”. Really he asks, I tell him to just try it it’s good. He does, but with caution and says” it’s not bad, better than I thought.” I think to myself, well I liked it, and he doesn’t really like vegetables anyway. But then I notice he keeps taking more and more from the bowl throughout dinner. I guess that makes me the Chopped champion.

 

One response

  1. Pingback: Happy National Sneak Some Zucchini on to Your Neighbor’s Porch Day AKA National Zucchini Day | Hollie's Hobbies

Leave a Reply

