Best Ever Barbecued Shrimp and Sausage with Grits (and I’ve tried a lot)

No Easter Brunch, or any brunch or Mardi Gras celebration is complete without Shrimp and Grits. It is one of my favorite comfort foods and my go to order at restaurants. So I have had my fair share, and feel like I am a good judge of this dish. The winner for me is this recipe , from one of my heavily used cookbooks, Southern Living’s All Time Favorites. The sauce I use is pretty much the same but I add Cajun Style smoked sausage because my kids are not huge seafood fans.  I have had many compliments and given the recipe to many friends. This is a must have in your recipe file.

2Lbs unpeeled, extra large raw shrimp, cleaned and deveined (don’t be tempted to take the peels off, the shrimp will be dry and will not have as much flavor, the mess is worth it)

4 links Cajun style smoked sausage cut into 2 ” chunks (if you prefer add another pound of shrimp and skip the sausage)

1/2 c butter

1/2 olive oil

1/4 c chili sauce ( I use Heinz)

1/4 c Worcestershire sauce

2 lemons sliced

4 garlic cloves minced

2T Creole Seasoning

1T chopped fresh parsley

2T lemon juice

1t smoked paprika

1t dried oregeno

1t ground black pepper

1/2 t of your favorite hot sauce

Line a large baking sheet with foil, spread shrimp and sausage on pan evenly

Combine butter and remaining ingredients in a med saucepan over low heat stirring until butter melts and ingrediants are combined

Pour over Shrimp and Sausage, cover and chill in refrigerator for 2 hours, turning shrimp once ( I have even marinated them overnight and  just cooked them for a little less time)

Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes or until shrimp are opaque

Serve over cheese grits, sprinkle with chopped chives or parsley

One response

  1. Pingback: Andouille Sausage and Peppers over Smoked Gouda Cheese Grits | Hollie's Hobbies

Leave a Reply

