Fresh vs. Frozen, The Seafood Debate and Mahi Mahi with Veracruz Sauce

Ah the forbidden seafood, I have been cooking for a long time but I was always intimidated by fish. Not that I didn’t eat it, I grew up in Florida on the West Coast where there is plenty of it. It was just always something we ate in restaurants, unless you counted fish sticks, but I don’t. Fish Monger, who has a Fish Monger, what do I look for, how do I know its fresh, how do I know if it is really the fish they say it is? I’m not an ichthyologist, I can’t even say that word. Besides it can be expensive, what if I mess it up, or worse someone gets sick?

Well my husband decided he was not going to eat red meat a few years back and let me tell you there is only so much chicken one person can eat. It was time to try it out. I read up and decided to try frozen, yes frozen fish. It saves me a lot of guess work and worring. My local grocery store, Publix has several varieties in the freezer case and guess what they are fresh and tasty. Most seafood you find sitting on ice looking at you in the glass case has been previously frozen anyway, especially the shrimp. So unless you want to wait for the boat to come in yourself, frozen fish is safer, fresher and tastier than it’s supposed “fresh” counterparts.

Here is an easy and great recipe for fish, I used Mahi Mahi (Dolphinfish, not Flipper) but Snapper or Grouper would work too, go ahead and try it.

1package of Frozen Mahi Mahi (two fillets feed 4 people)

2T vegetable oil

1 yellow or white onion chopped

4 garlic cloves finely chopped

1 jalapeno sliced (Use 2 if you like it spicy)

3 large ripe tomatoes chopped

1/2 cup green olives chopped

1t dried oregano

1T lime juice

1T Salt

Black Pepper

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Cook onion until soft, add garlic and jalapeno cook for 1 minute. Add tomatoes and cook about 5 minutes, then stir in olives oregano and lime juice, Salt and Pepper. Add Mahi Mahi to the sauce and spoon some of the sauce over the fillets. Reduce heat to med and cover pan, Cook about 7-9 minutes or until fish is opaque. Check for seasoning, add more salt and pepper if needed.

One response

Leave a Reply

