Taking Taco Night Up a Notch, Homemade Salsa and Guacamole

Sure I used to eat jarred salsa when I was a kid, I think I even liked it, but once I found out how easy it was to make my own I have been doing it ever since. Simple, fresh and delicious, try making your own for this weeks taco night.

Gather your ingredients:

3 ripe tomatoes , cut into quarters

1 T lime juice

3/4 of a medium sized, red onion (ratio of tomatoes to onion should be about 3 to 1), cut into quarters

1/2 jalapeno, sliced (I used 1/2 because this was a big one from my garden, use as much as you want depending of your spice tolerance)

2T of fresh cilantro

1t salt

Add tomatoes, lime juice, onion, and jalapeno to a food processor, pulse until chopped and combined, add cilantro and salt and do about 4 more quick pulses.

Pour into a bowl and let sit at room temp at least 15 min before serving.

That was easy, now don’t even clean up, were making Guacamole.

Cut 3 Avocados in half, remove pit and scoop into food processor (its ok if there is some salsa left in it)

add 1/2 cup of your already prepared salsa

add 1/2 tsp lime juice

salt and pepper to taste

Pulse ingredients until smooth and incorporated

Voila, now you have homemade guacamole too. Serve guacamole immediately or cover tightly and put into the refrigerator,

7 responses

  1. I know we are both in Florida. Do you have an Aldi grocery store near by? They have Avocado’s on sale for 49¢ each this week, that’s even cheaper than my regular produce market. I’m stocking up and using them in lots of dishes next week. Also, Jill from Reinidays blog said you could freeze them! I need to research a little but may end up buying a few extra for the freezer for fresh *and cheap* guacamole later in the year. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Instant Party: Beer Ritas | Hollie's Hobbies

  3. Pingback: Happy Cinco De Mayo! | Hollie's Hobbies

  4. Pingback: Graduation Party Revisited | Hollie's Hobbies

Leave a Reply

