Pinspired: Sweet Potato Hummus

I love, love, love, Pinterest. I get so many great ideas and recipes there. When I saw this on the site I knew I had to try it. Smoky sweet potato hummus was originally found on www.blissfulbblog.com and thankfully someone pinned it. I had a book club meeting for Saving C.C. Honeycutt and knew this would be a perfect dish to bring, but I made a double batch so I could take it to a family gathering the next day. It was a hit at both events.

This is the recipe I used since I was making a large amount, but make sure to check out the original recipe here:

4 sweet potatoes

1 lg can 19oz of chickpeas, drained and rinsed

3 chopped chipotle peppers (canned in adobo sauce)

2 garlic cloves

the juice of 2 limes

2 tablespoons olive oil

4 tablespoons tahini (sesame paste found in the ethnic food section of the supermarket)

salt and pepper

Wash and pierce the sweet potatoes several times with a fork. Bake the sweet potatoes for 1 hour on a baking sheet lined with foil. Cut in half and scoop out the potato into a food processor. add remaining ingredients and puree until smooth. You may add more olive oil or water to get it to your desired consistency. Top with smoked paprika and a drizzle of olive oil before serving.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Graduation Party Revisited | Hollie's Hobbies

Leave a Reply

