Red Thai Curry Coconut Shrimp and Noodles

Thai food is one of my favorites. In fact I have a weekly standing lunch date at my favorite Thai restaurant with my sister. I love the sweet and spicy flavors combined with fresh bright ingredients. While she favors the Pad Thai, I am a huge curry fan. The best thing about Red Thai Curry is that it is quick and easy to make at home.

1lb peeled and deveined shrimp

1T red curry paste (found is Asian food section of supermarket)

1 14 oz can coconut milk

1/2 t red pepper flakes

1/2 c frozen peas

1/2 box of vermicelli or spaghetti pasta cooked

2T chopped fresh cilantro

Sriracha Sauce

Cook your pasta according to directions on the box, I break mine in half before cooking

Heat a Tablespoon of curry over medium heat in a large frying pan for one min, while stirring , this helps release the flavors of the spices.

Add coconut milk to curry and stir to combine, heat 3-5 minutes over med heat until slightly thickened

Add cleaned and deveined shrimp and cook for 5-7 minutes or until shrimp are opaque, add peas and cook for 1-2 minutes more

Stir in Sriracha Sauce if you like yours a little spicier like I do ( I add about 2 tsps), Serve over pasta and top with chopped cilantro

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

