Bacon Jam: Yes, there is such a thing and it’s delicious

I have a friend who lives in England and I kept seeing her posts on Facebook about something called Bacon Jam. I had never heard of such a thing here in the states. I googled it and saw some jars of it all available in Europe, but not here. But it was bacon so I somehow had to try it.looked for a recipe for it and of course my favorite woman to love and hate but mostly love, Martha Stewart had one on her site. I am never one to follow a recipe verbatim but I have never actually had bacon jam so I didn’t want to start experimenting too much until I actually tasted it. I was envisioning serving it with cheese and crackers or maybe as a topping on pizza so the only thing I did differently was change out the vinegar, as I thought balsamic would go better with those things.

1 1/2 lbs of bacon cut into 1 inch pieces

2 medium yellow onions diced

3 garlic cloves peeled and crushed

1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

1/2 cup of brown sugar

1/4 pure maple syrup

3/4 c strong brewed coffee

Cook bacon pieces in a large pan over med-med high heat until they are slightly browned about 20 minutes. Remove with a slotted spoon and drain on paper towels.

Reserve one tablespoon of bacon grease in the pan  and discard the rest. Heat onions in garlic in pan over medium heat and cook until translucent about 5-6 minutes.

Add remaining ingredients and bring to a boil scraping up any browned bits from the bottom of the pan. Add bacon back to pan and stir.

Add contents of pan to a slow cooker and heat on high with a piece of foil loosely place on the top for about 3 hours or until liquid becomes syrupy.

Place mixture into a food processor and pulse until it becomes jam like.

The possibilities are now endless. Serve with a cheese plate, on pizza, in a quesadilla, we even tried it with peanut butter on a chocolate graham cracker. Will keep up to 4 weeks, in the refrigerator in an air tight container.

with apple slices on crostini

With goat cheese on crackers

2 responses

  1. Good Evening, I found your blog from a comment on Maggiesonebuttkitchen, that came to my inbox! Great Blog, and great recipe. You may also like carmelized onions, I am a home canner, and the Yahoo Canning2 group has fantastic recipes you might like as well, even if you don’t can, they are great recipes to make and eat. I am a basket weaver and chair caner, so I know you love crafts also Enjoyed reading your blog and am now following it.

Leave a Reply

