Dr. Pepper Marinated Flank Steak

I am trying to give up soda, I have a severe Diet Pepsi addiction. I don’t drink coffee, or smoke so I have always justified my 8:30 am can of Diet Pepsi, followed by 3 or 4 or more throughout the day. But I didn’t buy any this week, I figured now was as good a time as ever to give it up. My problem is we have a lot of other sodas left over from Memorial Day weekend, including Dr. Pepper, my kids favorite. My fear is that when I am strung out and jonesing for my Pepsi fix that I will grab whatever is in the fridge, including the high in sugar Dr. Pepper. So I decided to make a marinade with some of it to prevent later temptation, because if you cook with it it’s not the same, at least that’s what I am telling myself. I know, I know, don’t judge whatever gets me through the day…

1 flank steak

1/2 c Dr. Pepper

1/4 soy sauce

2 cloves of garlic minced

1/2 T Montreal Steak Seasoning ( I used the spicy version)

Mix Dr. Pepper, Soy sauce, garlic and steak seasoning together.

Place Flank Steak and marinade in a gallon sized plastic bag, seal and put in refrigerator for at least one hour. ( you could make it ahead and marinade it overnight)

Preheat Broiler, remove steak from bag and place on a broiler pan.

Place under broiler for about 10 minutes and turn the steak over and broil the other side for 10 more minutes ( Check for doneness with a meat thermometer) . I added some asparagus tossed with lemon, olive oil and salt and pepper during the last 5 minutes of cooking.

Let meat rest for at least 5 minutes, then slice against the grain and serve.

5 responses

  1. ha ha I love it. Everyone has their addictions…I am not too much of a soda drinker though I really do enjoy a Coca Cola (no pepsi!! πŸ™‚ at times. I am a major coffee drinker though!

  2. Hello, my name is Justa and I am also a morning Pepsi addict. I also gave up coffee (for the most part) many years ago then got hooked on the Pepsi. A few weeks ago I decided I need to give it up, at least in the morning while my stomach was empty but still wanted a “cold” drink (hey, were in Florida…it’s not like we wake up to single digit temps in the morning. πŸ™‚ ). A day or two later Jill at http://reinidays.wordpress.com/ posted about Iced Coffee from the Pioneer Woman. I’ve been making it ever since…using a little sweetened condensed milk. It adds the sweetness I’m looking for and also gives it a wonderful velvety texture. Now, as for my beer…totally not ready to give up that one either, lol!

  3. I had one today at lunch πŸ™‚ oh well, baby steps. Coffee upsets my stomach or else I would totally try the iced coffee thing, trying to stick with water, iced tea without any sweeteners and of course beer.

Leave a Reply

