Buttermilk Barbecued Chicken

I like to use buttermilk and yogurt for marinating my chicken, it gives it a nice flavor, coats better and seems to help it retain its moisture better than oil based marinades.

6 chicken breasts

3/4 c low fat buttermilk

4 T chili sauce (I used Heinz)

1/2 t garlic powder

1/2 t dry mustard

2 t Worcestershire sauce

1/2 t salt

1/4 t pepper

Rinse Chicken and pat dry, place in large shallow pan ( I used a 9×12 glass baking dish). Mix remaining ingredients in a med sized bowl and pour over the chicken.

Cover and refrigerate for 1/2 hour to overnight. Preheat grill to med-high heat. Place chicken on grill, Chicken will still have a coating of the marinade.

Grill until cooked through, use a meat thermometer to determine doneness.

I served it with grilled vegetables, and couscous

2 responses

    • Yes, but I don’t have one of those on here yet. I use a yogurt marinade combined with indian spices fairly often. I have also dipped the chicken in yogurt and a few spices and then dredged in bread crumbs for an oven “fried” chicken.I will have to make those soon so I can add them to my blog, stay tuned…..

Leave a Reply

