Cherry Ice Cream Smile, and a Small Duran Duran Obsession

Ok if you got the title of this post then you already know I am a Duran Duran Super Fan. It’s not something I am necessarily proud of, but it is who I am. I got their cassette for Christmas when I was 10 or 11, and immediately I fell in love. I plastered my walls and ceiling with their posters, bought every book, video and record they sold. Made people drive me by Simon’s mom’s house, I was lucky enough to live in the same city as she did (but I bet she didn’t feel the same way). Every thought and action in my pre teen life revolved around the fab 5 in some way or another. I was what you might call obsessed. Every day I would watch MTV hoping to catch a glimpse of Simon’s baby blue eyes, listen to the radio trying to get any kind of tidbit of gossip about themand all of my friends had to like Duran Duran or they were traitors in my book. Then slowly there became a time when I sort of left them. I cheated on them with The Smiths, The Cult, The Pixies, I traded my jazz shoes for Doc Martens, I even got married and had two kids. They were always my first love though, the one I could never forget. Once my kids started to get a little older and I could stop listening to Disney songs for entertainment, I came back. It started slowly, I would listen to a CD here and there, google them on the internet, download the dance mixes onto my Ipod, and well then it kind of got out of control. I like to think that it doesn’t rule my life like it did when I was 12 but there is evidence to the contrary. I follow, John, Simon, and even Simon’s dog on twitter (it is the only reason I signed up for the service). I plan many trips around Duran Duran concerts. I will think nothing of leaving my husband and kids if I get good seats in another city, state, or even country. I still scream like a 12 year old girl when I see them. I will push my old and decrepit body all they way to the front row every time, pushing the young whipper snappers out of my way in the process. I have even climbed over walls and across seat backs in heels to get there. I justify it by my age and commitment, I have earned front row seats even if my ticket says otherwise. I am 40, the ushers don’t scare me anymore. (And by the way front row at a sold out Madison Square garden concert is totally a bucket list moment.) Pictures are worth a thousand words right,  this was my Halloween costume last year.

So it was only a matter of time before I brought it up in my blog, I had cherries and I had ice cream, I was already singing the song in my head, the recipe just had to be created. Cherry Ice Cream Smile

1c pitted sliced fresh cherries

3T sugar

1/4 c water

2T spiced rum

pinch of salt

Ice Cream

Add cherries, sugar and water to a small pan, bring to a boil and simmer until cherries start to soften and liquid becomes syrupy. Add rum and salt, bring to boil again and then turn off the heat.

Serve over ice cream with whipped cream and nuts if desired.

and just because… I love you Simon, Bahamas 2008

6 responses

  1. Oh, girrrrrl!! I fell ya!! I had EVERYTHING Duran Duran growing up! Just the other day was John Taylor’s birthday (that was my man), and the fact that I STILL know that, after all these years, means I’m still a tad bit obsessed! haha Some things never die, right? Duranies foreva!!

  2. Pingback: Happy Duran Duran Appreciation Day ! | Hollie's Hobbies

Leave a Reply

