Beef Stroganoff, aka Fauxganoff

I usually try not to cook with pre made sauces, soups, dressings etc…, too much unneeded sodium, sugar, and weird ingredients I can’t pronounce. But there are a few family members in my house that will not eat mushrooms, I won’t name names. So for my quick weeknight stroganoff I use a can of cream of mushroom soup to get the mushroom flavor without any visible mushrooms. Some may call this trickery, I choose to call it delicious and comforting.

Beef Fauxganoff

2 T oil

1 1/2 lbs thinly sliced top sirloin

1/4 c chopped onion

1/2 t salt

1/8 t pepper

1/4 c flour

1 t  chopped garlic

1T sherry

1 c water

1 10 oz can of cream of mushroom soup ( I used Campbell’s)

2 T Worcestershire sauce

1/2 c sour cream

Toss meat and onions with flour, salt and pepper. Heat oil in skillet and add meat and flour mixture.

Cook meat until browned on all sides, add garlic and sherry and scrape bits up from pan with a wooden spoon, (deglaze) Add soup, water and Worcestershire sauce, stir until combined and simmer for 5 minutes, stir in sour cream. Serve over cooked noodles, top with chopped parsley if desired.

Leave a Reply

