Buffalo Chicken Casserole

We eat a lot of wings around here. I have two teenage boys and I think if it was up to them we would eat pizza and wings every night. I saw a post awhile back from a fellow blogger, Fantastic Frugal Foods from Justa’s Kitchen for a Buffalo Chicken Casserole. What a great idea for my family. So when I was in my kitchen with some extra chicken cutlets that need to be used up, I remembered her recipe. I wanted to use what I had in my kitchen without going to the store, so I kinda of created my own version, but here is hers.

Buffalo Chicken Casserole

1 1/2 lbs boneless chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces

2T butter

1 t chopped garlic

2T hot sauce (I used Frank’s)

1/4 c chopped celery (if you are not a celery fan, try carrots)

1/4 c flour

3 cups milk

3 oz cream cheese

2 T blue cheese

16 oz box of ziti (or other pasta), cooked and drained

1/2 c crushed Buffalo flavored Pretzel Crisps

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, Add butter to a large pan and melt over med high heat, add chicken, garlic, 1 T hot sauce and celery. Sauté til chicken is cooked through, about 4 minutes. remove from heat and sprinkle chicken and veg with flour.

Place back on burner over low.for 1 minute. Add milk and bring to boiling, turn to low and add cream cheese, blue cheese and remaining 1 T of  hot sauce cook until cheese is melted into sauce and it is slightly thickened.

Add sauce to pasta and stir, pour into a large baking dish, 9×13

Top with crushed pretzels.

Bake for 20 minutes.

One response

  1. Pingback: Happy Moldy Cheese Day! | Hollie's Hobbies

Leave a Reply

