Chicken and Lemon Dumplings : A Visit to my Grandma’s Recipe Box

I am the unofficial family historian. I am the holder of all of the old photos and mementos. I have each and every one in safe keeping. Its a  job I enjoy, sometimes on a lazy or dreary day I will pull out and old album or keepsake and it always brings a smile to my face. I am lucky enough to be the keeper of my Grandmother’s recipe box. I have it right next to my own in my kitchen, I don’t often go through it, but I like just having it there. I would not describe her as a lover of food or cooking, but I am. So I am glad that I can look into it and try to see what she was thinking in the way she wrote or edited her recipes. Some were too spicy, some too expensive, so she would redo them and make them her own. I found this in her recipe box and decided to give it a try, and of course I did a little editing too, after all I do take after my grandmother.

Chicken and Lemon Dumplings

1lb boneless skinless chicken breast

2 T veg oil

2 cups chicken stock

1/2 cup diced onion

1/2 c  chopped carrot

1/2 c chopped celery

1 1/2 t chicken seasoning

1/8 t pepper

2 t chopped fresh dill

1/2 c cold water

3 T flour

For Dumplings

1 c flour

1 1/2 t baking powder

3/4 t salt

3/4 c milk

1 t lemon juice

1/4 t lemon zest

1 t chopped fresh dill

Heat Oil in a large pot add chicken, onion, carrots, celery and chicken seasoning, saute until slightly browned. add stock, pepper and dill, simmer 5 minutes. whisk flour into cold water and add to pot. Continue to simmer.

For dumplings, combine all ingredients in a bowl, drop tablespoons of mixture into stew.

Cover and cook for 10 minutes.

Uncover and cook for 10 minutes more .

One response

Leave a Reply

