Formula for a Perfect Salad: Grilled Salmon and Goat Cheese Salad

 

I am very particular about my salads. They need to contain what I like to call my perfect salad formula, which is something crunchy, something sweet, something sour or acidic and something unexpected. Balance is also key, sweet and savory, creamy and crunchy, warm and cold, everything has to have the right ratio. Oh and did I mention  it has to be visually appealing as well so make sure there are contrasting colors and textures. One of my favorite salads to eat out is Bonefish’s Grilled Salmon and Asparagus Salad. It meets all my criteria and it is delicious. I made my own little version of it at home minus the asparagus.

For 2

2 fillets wild sockeye salmon

2 T olive oil

1/4 cup orange juice

1/2 t salt

1/4 t lemon pepper

1/4 t chili powder

4 c mixed field greens, washed and dried

1/2 c french green beans, steamed until crisp tender ( I used a microwave steamer bag)

1/3 c chopped fennel

4 T goat cheese

1/2 c cherry tomatoes

1/2 c citrus or mango vinaigrette (I used Bolthouse Farms Tropical Mango, I normally don’t buy bottled dressings, but this one is good and all natural)

Place fish in a shallow dish, top with orange juice and olive oil and put in refrigerator for 15 minutes. Remove and sprinkle with salt pepper and chili powder. Grill until cooked to your liking, I did mine about 4 min per side. Assemble greens, fennel, goat cheese, green beans and tomatoes on each plate, top with grilled fish and dressing.

Leave a Reply

