Time on your hands? Try Martha Stewart’s King Cake for Mardi Gras

Mardi Gras: King Cake

Mardi Gras: King Cake

Last year at this time I was still on crutches from my debilitating and nightmare of a knee surgery, so I had a lot of time on my hands and I was BORED. I decided to make the traditional King Cake for Mardi Gras, it is more danish like than a cake, not too sweet and the best part is you get to hide a small plastic baby in it. I followed all the instructions from my idol Martha Stewart’s recipe found here. The only difference was that I rolled my dough in cinnamon sugar before braiding it. It was delicious and I was quite proud of myself, I even colored my own sugar. However this is a process, an all day affair if you will. Well it’s Mardi Gras time again, Fat Tuesday is less than a week away and I don’t think I will be making one this year, I have proved that I could so I am going to save my day for something more productive. (Mardi Gras Cocktails may be an option)  I will probably buy a King Cake at Publix just for the pomp and circumstance of the holiday, and make some sort of New Orleans themed dinner, but as of now the cake is out. If you are feeling up to the challenge you should definitely try it , it was delicious, let me know how it turns out. Here’s more pics to prove I did it.

Mardi Gras King Cake IMG_0330 IMG_0334

 

 

Leave a Reply

