Rapini and Sausage

Rapini and Sausage

If you know me or follow my blog you know that I am a sucker for produce. I love all the colors and textures and the way all the fruits and vegetables look stacked in neat piles. I wish I could decorate my kitchen to look like a farmer’s market. I also will buy anything I haven’t seen or eaten before, or anything out of the ordinary, my youngest son and I are suckers for any exotic fruit or vegetable. So I have tried Rapini, otherwise known as Broccoli Rabe or Broccoletti before but I am sure many people haven’t. It looks like greens with little pieces of broccoli attached and is actually a member of the turnip family.

Rapini or Broccoli Rabe

It can be prepared like most any leafy green, sautéed, blanched etc… It is somewhere between cabbage and collards as far as bitterness. To prepare just wash and chop off the very bottom of the stems, the rest of the plant is edible. Great as a side dish or part of a main meal like this Rapini and Sausage dish.

Rapini and Sausage

1 bunch Rapini or Broccoli Rabe

1 t salt

2T oil

1 lb smoked turkey sausage ( you could use any sausage in this dish)

1 small onion chopped

1 t garlic chopped

1 t red pepper flakes

1 T lemon juice

1 c mushrooms sliced ( I used baby bellas)

Bring a pot of water and 1 t salt to a boil, toss in rapini and cook for 4 minutes. drain.

Blanched Rapini

In a large pan heat oil over med high heat, add sausage and onions saute until sausage in cooked through. add garlic, red pepper flakes, rapini and mushrooms (add another T of oil if needed). Continue cooking until mushrooms are soft, squeeze lemon juice over dish and salt and pepper to taste.

Rapini and Sausage

Leave a Reply

