Heels in the Kitchen: Elvis Cookies

Elvis Cookies: Oatmeal, peanut butter, banana and chocolate chip

Today I am wearing heels in the kitchen, special occasion?  No, but 15 months after knee surgery I still look like a 10 year old trying to walk in her mom’s shoes. I am sick of flats, and flip-flops, I want to wear grown up shoes, after all I love shoes and there are too many pairs of heels to count, in my closet, just collecting dust. Maybe I am over thinking it, so I figured if I put them on while I was busy in the kitchen I would forget about the awkwardness and just walk in them. Well, I think it was slightly helpful, next step mopping and gardening in heels, the neighbors (and my family) may think I am crazy but I am getting back in my shoes!

Oh and I made these delicious cookies today, oatmeal, peanut butter, banana and chocolate chip. So obviously I named them Elvis cookies, thank you, thank very much.

Elvis Cookies: Oatmeal, peanut butter, banana and chocolate chip

1 1/2 c flour

1 c sugar

1/2 t salt

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 c butter softened

3/4 c peanut butter

1 egg

2 bananas mashed

1 1/2 c old fashioned oats

1 c mini chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Add flour, sugar, salt, baking soda, butter and peanut butter to a large bowl. Beat on low until ingredients are combined and the mixture starts to crumble. Add egg, bananas and oats, mix until it forms a dough, stir in chocolate chips. use a med ice cream scoop or a heaping tablespoon and place dough on cookie sheets.

Elvis Cookies: Oatmeal, peanut butter, banana and chocolate chip

bake for about 18 minutes or until edges brown and cookies are slightly golden. (my oven is on the slow side so check after 14 minutes)

Elvis Cookies: Oatmeal, peanut butter, banana and chocolate chip

Let cool and enjoy! Makes about 4 dozen

Elvis Cookies: Oatmeal, peanut butter, banana and chocolate chip

One response

Leave a Reply

