Corona Chicken Stew (and the confession of a beer snob)

Corona Chicken Stew

 

If you follow my posts you will know that I love craft beer, and the hoppier the better. But come close, I have a small confession and I don’t really want it to get out. I like Corona, there I said it. When the hops are too heavy and its 90 degrees outside, I love an ice cold refreshing watered down lager with a lime.  So as it happens I may have some left over in my refrigerator and let me tell you it is pretty tasty in this light Caribbean slow cooked chicken stew, and if no one is looking I may drink one with dinner.

Corona Chicken Stew

3 medium sized sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/4s

1 yellow onion sliced

6 boneless skinless chicken thighs

1 bottle of Corona or Corona Light Beer

2 T brown sugar

2 T ponzu or soy sauce

1 T garlic, minced

1 T ginger, minced

2 T jerk seasoning ( I used McCormick’s)

1 large orange, juice and zest

2 limes, juice and zest

1c frozen corn

 

In a crock pot or slow cooker add potatoes and onion, then position chicken on top. pour in beer. Sprinkle with brown sugar, soy sauce, jerk seasoning , garlic and ginger. Add zest from limes and orange and their juices.

Corona Chicken Stew

 

Add corn and cover, Cook on high for 5 hours or low for 8. Serve over rice.

Corona Chicken Stew

Corona Chicken Stew

Corona Chicken Stew

Leave a Reply

