Chipotle and Lime Glazed Meatloaf

Well I have learned something, not all food looks as good as it tastes. Meatloaf is one of them. Dinner time at my house is as hectic as everyone else’s. I have a husband a two teen boys, they are always starving and waiting like vultures for dinner.  I try to take pictures before, during, and after I am cooking, I wasn’t happy with this finished one of the meatloaf so I thought I will get another picture of it sliced on a plate after dinner, well I guess this meatloaf was good because there was none left when I went to get the second picture. Hope your family enjoys this as much as my boys did.

Chipotle and Lime Glazed Meatloaf

1 small yellow onion chopped

2 garlic cloves minced

1 1/2 – 2 lbs meatloaf mix (ground beef and pork mix sold at most grocery stores, or 1 lb ground beef and 1/2 pound ground pork)

2 chipotle chilis (canned in Adobe sauce) chopped

1 egg

1T ketchup

1/2 -3/4 c breadcrumbs

1T salt

ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 375

Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl, form a loaf and place in a casserole dish ( I prefer this to a loaf pan so that you can glaze the sides and the top)

Chipotle Lime Glaze:

3 T ketchup

2T adobe sauce (from the can of chipotles)

1T lime juice

Mix together, spread evenly over sides and top of meat loaf

Bake for approximately 45 minutes, slice and serve

Shared on Justa’s Kitchen’s Fantastic Food Fridays 5/2/2012

3 responses

Leave a comment